Synopsis

Logline
THE SLEEPER approaches the biographies of two women whose personalities were forcibly hidden behind their roles as wives and homemakers. They remained invisible until they themselves became the aggressors.

Short text
Two newspaper articles, ten years apart, two different women, the same wording. In 2001 Göttinger Zeitung wrote that Margit (69) had lived a secluded life as an inconspicuous woman. In 2011 Hamburger Abendblatt stated that Irina (65) had lived in seclusion, a non-descript woman. Up to the moment of their appearance between these newspaper lines, both women were invisible, forcefully concealed by their roles as wives and homemakers. Only for a brief moment did they claim visibility. Through acts of violence. THE SLEEPER revolves around the time before these acts took place.
The short film reconstructs and imagines the stories of these two women who were extrinsically determined throughout their lives, struggling to express themselves in vain until the only way for them to end the spiral of every-day violence was to resort to violence themselves.
The cinematic narrative, too, oscillates between documentation and fiction. An apartment with a humming fridge, a pot steaming on the stove, a table set for a meal, a running TV, serves as its key element. These every-day scenes, translated into animated still lives in the film, suggest that something is about to happen or just took place. The character of the homemaker seems omnipresent though she never appears on the scene, just as the actual protagonists Margit and Irina remain invisible. 
This intimate play, which reminds of a visitation, is contrasted by tranquil exterior shots of urban landscapes and houses. Day in and day out domestic dramas take place behind these facades, never making themselves known to the outside.

Synopsis

Logline
DIE SCHLÄFERIN ist eine Annäherung an die Lebensgeschichten zweier Frauen, deren Persönlichkeiten hinter ihren Rollen als Ehe- und Hausfrauen zum Verschwinden gebracht wurden. Sie waren solange unsichtbar, bis sie selbst zu Täterinnen wurden.

Kurztext
Zwei Zeitungsartikel, zehn Jahre Abstand, zwei verschiedene Frauen, der gleiche Wortlaut. 2001 schreibt die Göttinger Zeitung, Margit (69) habe zurückgezogen gelebt und sei eine unscheinbare Frau gewesen. 2011 schreibt das Hamburger Abendblatt Irina (65) habe zurückgezogen gelebt und sei eine unscheinbare Frau gewesen. Bis zu dem Moment ihres Auftauchens zwischen den Zeilen eines Zeitungsartikels sind beide Frauen unsichtbar, hinter ihren Rollen als Ehe- und Hausfrauen zum Verschwinden gebracht. Lediglich einmal verschaffen sie sich für kurze Zeit Sichtbarkeit. In einem Gewaltakt. DIE SCHLÄFERIN kreist um die Zeit vor diesen Gewalttaten.

Der Kurzfilm rekonstruiert und imaginiert die Geschichten dieser beiden Frauen, die Zeit ihres Lebens fremdbestimmt werden und vergeblich um einen eigenen Ausdruck ringen, solange, bis sie die Spirale alltäglicher Gewalt nur noch durch einen eigenen Gewaltakt beenden können.
Auch die filmische Sprache bewegt sich zwischen Dokument und Fiktion. Angelpunkt ist eine Wohnung, in der ein Kühlschrank brummt, ein Topf auf dem Herd kocht, ein gedeckter Tisch steht, der Fernseher läuft. Diese filmisch als bewegte Stillleben dargestellten häuslichen Alltagsszenen suggerieren, dass etwas gerade eben oder noch nicht passiert ist. Die Figur der Hausfrau scheint omnipräsent, bleibt im Bild aber abwesend, wie auch die eigentlichen Protagonistinnen Margit und Irina unsichtbar bleiben.
Dieses Kammerspiel, das einer Heimsuchung gleicht, wird mit ruhigen Außenaufnahmen auf Stadtlandschaften und Häuser kontrastiert. Fassaden, hinter denen sich täglich häusliche Dramen abspielen, die nie nach außen dringen.